News and events

This page will eventually allow setting options concerning reception of the related email reminders. Currently this is still under construction. Menwhile if you simply want to stop receiving the email reminders or suggest a date for a reminder, contact

News and events archive

BIGMATH – Big Data Challenges for Mathematics

14/11/2018 — 01/01/2019

7 open PhD positions are available in the framework of the Marie Curie EID (European Industrial Doctorate) BIGMATH – Big Data Challenges for Mathematics, at Università degli Studi di Milano (Italy), TU Eindhoven (The Netherlands), IST Lisbon University (Portugal), University of Novi Sad (Serbia). Of these two are open at IST-Lisbon:

Project 1 (with 3lateral )
Distributed optimization for human face model animation

Project 2 (with CIF and SDG)
Credit scoring and statistical prediction of credit default

For more information about the positions check the announcement.

The mathematical fields of research involved in the projects are mainly: Statistics, Optimization, Large Scale Linear Algebra.

Professor Yasser Omar in the news thanks to quantum technologies projects


Professor Yasser Omar is the leader of the Portuguese component of two quantum technologies projects funded with 13 million euros.

Group including Ricardo Schiappa funded by ERC


The ERC Synergy Grant 810573 ReNewQuantum — Recursive and Exact New Quantum Theory, which includes Professor Ricardo Schiappa, has been funded by the European Research Council with a €10 000 000 grant.

European Courses in Advanced Statistics on Statistical Analysis for Space-Time Data

15/07/2019 — 17/07/2019

@ Anfiteatro, Piso3, Faculdade de Ciências, Universidade de Lisboa

ECAS2019 is organized by SPE and SEIO and will take place in Lisbon, Portugal.

IWOTA 2019 — 30th International Workshop on Operator Theory and its Applications

22/07/2019 — 26/07/2019

@ Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisboa, Portugal

IWOTA 2019 intends to bring together mathematicians and engineers working in Functional Analysis, Operator Theory and their applications, namely mathematical physics, control theory and signal processing.

Professor Jaime Campos Ferreira Prizes 2018


@ Sala Comum, Departamento de Matemática, Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade de Lisboa

The Professor Jaime Campos Ferreira Prizes 2018 were awarded to:

  • Miguel Miranda Ribeiro Moreira
  • Henrique Cravo Esteves dos Santos
  • Rodrigo Maria Girão Marques Rodrigues Serrão
  • Gabriel da Fonseca Matos

and ex æquo to

  • João Leandro Câmara Serra
  • João Pedro Estácio Gaspar Gonçalves de Araújo

The awards cerimony will take place on November 27th at 5pm in the Mathematics Commons Room.

Inter-University Programming Marathon - MIUP 2018


The LMAC team aLMAConsquISTadora (Henrique Navas, Duarte Nascimento e João Tavares) won the first prize at the Inter-University programming marathon - MIUP 2018, held at the Departamento de Informática da Universidade da Beira Interior, on October 13th, 2018.

Next page